So I've been wrestling with an issue lately and I thought I might see if you guys have any opinions/convictions/whatever I just want some insight. Try to understand what I'm saying here...I'm gleaning from lots of different angles and opinions...some you may agree or not agree with. Just lemme know what you think...
I was driving toward downtown a few months back with my friend and we we're talking about a band that we both liked. I asked him if he had heard the new album that the band had just released. After he said "no", I plugged in my iPod and selected the first track. It was weird to me that he hadn't purchased this bands latest album, so I proceeded to ask him why he didn't have it.
"I had to stop listening to them". He reluctantly said.
"Really?" I asked, "Why?"
He told me about a conversation he had had with his pastor about music. Turns out his pastor used to be in a Christian punk rock band with some friends a while back. Long story short, the pastor had made a commitment not to listen to music that was not God honoring. My friend decided to make the same commitment. One of the reasons for this commitment I, along everyone reading this blogg, have heard before; if someone who is not saved sees or hears you listening to music that does not honor God, it will ruin your witness. Ok I still don't really know where I stand on this one but I've heard it before nevertheless. The other reason is new to me. He said that he doesn't want to support a band that is uplifting or upholding standards and ideals that are contrary to biblical values.
Hmm...
I've never heard that before. I mean sure they're gonna do what they wanna go...i.e. party, drink, whatever...thats their choice. The question is, am i helping pay for that life by buying one of their albums? Am I enabling them to a certain degree? I saw it as an interesting thought, not that I agree or disagree. Lemme know what you guys think...
Just somthin I've been fighting with...
~LANCE
Subscribe to:
Post Comments (Atom)
5 comments:
Well...as far as secular music ruining your witness, i think that's a touchy subject. personally, i think you have to be more aware of worldly music ruining your testimony. someone seeing you listening to Wu-Tang Clan and someone seeing you listening to Michael Buble are to completely different things.
Personally, I don't see a problem with secular music that isn't broadcasting a negative message or whose members aren't publicly sacrificing animals to pagan gods and whatnot.
Also, having once--in the not too distant past--been one of the skeptical, judgmental non-christians, i can say that it is far from inspiring to someone who doesn't know God to see a Christian-bubble Christian. Not that I'm saying that that's what it really is, but that it's more perceived that way. It makes us seem less like real people and makes Jesus faker to them. But that's just my personal opinion...please don't picket my dorm with torches and pitchforks.
As far as contributing your money to a group who is using it for negative gains...that's a lot more complicated. that comes down to an argument of what exactly you have a moral issue with and i think that that would be a matter of personal conviction...
But i could be totally wrong.
K.
Who is K? I appreciate ur opinion...I'm not gonna picket ur dorm I'm just tryin to get some perspective
I would ask is this person if they're holding their commitment to one specific form of entertainment. Do they not listen to a music artist who isn't a Christian, but then see a film, in which the film artist(actor) who's personal life isn't mirroring Jesus. If we're going to apply one standard to a certain form of entertainment, then we should apply them to all forms of entertainment. I personally believe films are much more influential then music in that regard.
What about just looking at ourselves as bodies, minds, and spirits? What does it do for your spirit? your soul? your body? There are songs that as a happily married woman I may listen to before a date that I would in no way reccomend to Ashley. EVEN if the artist's life 'mirrored' Jesus.
What does that even mean??? They don't smoke? Or are they Republicans?
HA HA HA
also: hi lance, it's kellye. the only liberal cfnier/small grouper you know whose name starts with a k.
Post a Comment